time, time, time, see what’s become of me*

Okay, how did it get to be Friday already? It feels like it should be Wednesday.

I know as we age most people report feeling time whizzing by faster and faster, but this seems unusually speedy. I wonder if it’s because I’m doing more and more things that I enjoy. It used to be that I really didn’t like a lot of what I had to do. I remember absolutely abhorring Mondays, and wishing for Wednesday evenings, the regular night for my favourite orchestra rehearsal. From there, the slide into the weekend seemed reasonably nearby and I happily enjoyed myself until Monday again.

These days, not only do I enjoy my day job more, but I’ve cagily avoided Mondays, working Tuesday through Saturday. I have rid myself of doing many things I don’t particularly like, and pack my days with the things I do. And one of the unfortunate consequences seems to be seeing my life fly by.

Scientific American has some interesting ideas about time perception. One suggestion that I recognized in my own life was that the more attention you paid to schedules and deadlines, the more quickly time passes. So the more you focus on time, the more you try to grab and hold on, the more it slips through your fingers. I stopped wearing a watch, hoping that would ease my fearful grip on needing to know what time it is, but clocks are everywhere, including the Big Ben widget staring remorsely at me from this desktop computer.

It makes for an interesting paradox. How human, that time will drag on if one is bored and hasten away if one is engaged. So a good life is a short life? Naw, it can’t be. The mind revolts. There has to be a way out of this quandary – to enjoy oneself for a comfortable period.

Doesn’t there?

*Simon and Garfunkel, A Hazy Shade of Winter

#time #time flies #deadlines #stop the clock

Leave a Reply

